The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was created in Paris (France), on 16 November 1945.

Its Headquarters are located in Paris and the Organization has an important network of field offices in different countries of the world. UNESCO currently has 195 member States and 9 associate members.

The main objective of UNESCO is to establish peace and security between States by promoting cooperation in education, social and natural sciences, culture and communication fields; create favorable conditions for dialogue between civilizations, cultures and peoples, based on the respect of universal values.