Established in 1992, UNESCO Chairs Programme promotes International cooperation between Universities in order to strengthen capacities of institutions by the sharing of knowledge and experience. The Programme also supports the creation of chairs in the main fields of expertise of the Organization, namely Education, Natural and Social Sciences, Culture and Communication.

The following institutions of Georgia participate in UNESCO Chairs Programme:

  • Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, Chair for Intercultural Dialogue (since 2016).
  • Georgian Technical University, Chair for Information Society (since 2003).